Waiting for GW2 – Endless Space et al.

Not long after the 30 quest weekend challenge I pretty much stopped playing The Secret World.  I will probably go back later, but for the moment I’m not feeling much of a pull to log in.  I am going through serious MMO withdrawal, but, with Guild Wars 2 only a week or so away there’s no point in getting into a different MMO.  A good time to play a few single player games.

I bought Endless Space on Steam last week, a pretty new turned-based 4X game.  Even on Newbie setting it’s giving me a run for my money.  I also bought a copy for hubby so we can play multiplayer (multiplayer games are done through Steam either with your Steam friends or open to the public).  Ganging up on the AI certainly helps!  If you want a great summary of the game, the Cynical Brit has a WTF is … Endless Space episode, well worth watching.  With the disastrous launch of Sword of the Stars II last year, and Legends of Pegasus this month, it’s nice to see a polished game on launch.  Sure, it could do with a few more bells and whistles, but in the last month there have been 4 or so updates, one of the them chock full of additions, so both the present and future look bright for the game.  The UI is so clean and well designed, everything is at your fingertips and the graphics in general are a pleasure to look at.  A first glance it seems pretty simplistic, but there’s plenty of depth to it, and I’m imagining more depth over time.  I’ve played about 20 hours so far, and I’m not feeling at all bored yet, quite the opposite, still figuring out strategies to nail the AI!

Galaxy View – yes I know it looks like I’m in a good position here, but I’m not, trust me. 

Pretty AND functional Solar System View

Part of the large tech tree

I’ve been a typical butterfly over the last few weeks, trying to find things to play while waiting for Guild Wars 2.  As well as Endless Space I’ve dabbled with a couple of Alpha Indie games, Gnomoria (kind of a better looking version of Dwarf Fortress) and Stardrive, another 4X space game (I was a contributor to the KickStarter for that, hence access to the Alpha).  Fieldrunners 2 is still keeping my ipad busy :).  What’s everyone else doing in the lead up to Guild Wars 2?!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Endless Space, Single Player

6 responses to “Waiting for GW2 – Endless Space et al.

  1. Zic

    Still playing TSW…
    Just about done all quests in game now, liking the idea of the rocket launher coming in update 2 with the 8th Action bar slot.
    If you and hubby would like to do some runs and not worry about questing for a bit give me a hollar and i’ll come ehal and you can dps your little heart away…
    Still undecided what to roll in Gw2…
    Not long to make my mind up ither…

    • Sounds tempting Zic :), maybe Wednesday night we could try a run on the savage coast, hubby wants the achievement for that :P. A few points wouldn’t go astray at all, actually the only run I’ve done so far is that initial one we did with you!

  2. Hm. That Endless Space game does look interesting. Your screenshots of it reminds me a little of Master of Orion, mechanics-wise.

    Right now I am playing Skyrim until Guild Wars 2 is released. I have been trying to get loose from its draconian claws since there are other games there are other games I want to play but so far no lucky! HALP!

  3. Hehe, that’s awesome really, finding a game that you’re having so much fun with that it’s hard to pull away :). Down the track when you have time I’d highly recommend Endless Space. It does lack the colony maintenance features of MOO / MOO2, but there are pirates and lots to keep you busy. As I said, I’m sure they’ll keep adding more to it.

    5 and a bit days to GW2!!!

    • Rings very true indeed! I think that this will be the difference with GW2 and all the ‘other’ games I got excited about (although admittedly LotRO came close). Not only does it look like a great game, but we have a guild up and running right from the get-go. I’ve also recommended the guild to people I used to work with. If we’re all together in one spot then even if a few people drop out we’ll have enough to do things together. There should hopefully always be a couple of people online. I think that this is the first game since Wow that I’m feeling will be a Wow replacement. That is … one that will be good to stick with :P. I can’t think offhand of anything it doesn’t have that I want, and anything it does have that I don’t want (apart from some of the PvP but that’s optional anyway, and who knows, dabbling in that might even be fun!).

Leave a Reply

